top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRegine Cortez

How to pronounce Indonesian names

Updated: Mar 6, 2019

January 21, 2019

On the first hour in the morning, my first task is to have the attendance, I called them one by one I said slowly "today I am going to have the attendance, please say me and raise your hand if your name is called". I it was hard because I don't know how to pronounce their name and sometimes there are two raising their hands because i mentioned the name that is their family/ancestor's name. Later that day, i had a conversation with one of my pupil, her name is Devika, I ask her if what is the name of one of her classmates, she answered me "Wina" so i repeat "Wina" I pronounced it soft in 1 glide but she said, no miss it's "Wina" *a short pause on the second syllable. We repeat several times until we are all laughing to my wrong pronunciation.




That's how to pronounce Indonesian names, thanks to my sweet little pupil.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page